A Clarification

Hey those of you who view my blog. I’m going to take a step away from a blog today and talk about what I’m doing this blog for. In light of a celebrity (and I say that with surprise on my part on being communicated with) commented on my blog recently. In an eye opening comment, I forgot just what I do this blog for. Let me make a clarification.

I do not write this blog to intentionally demean any of those artists or actors or even creators in a general sense out there. I am sure, as people, those groups of people whom I write about are wonderful people, if they choose to be. The intent of writing this blog is to talk, on a more personal and relatable level, to an audience out there that likes hearing just what an average college age student has to say about the media around him. Yes, some of it is biased towards my likes of death metal, horror, and all things dark (hence the name, The Abyss). But I would like to think, as we all can, that we can branch out of our niches and find something outside our comfort zone that we like.

When I write, and it is not intentional, I come off as a ranting pessimist. I don’t know if I can consciously change this, because it is the person I am when it comes to film. When I really like something, I’m sure I come off as a ranting optimist. I don’t consider most films or music bad. I have an fervent appreciation for anyone who puts their time and effort into creating a movie, a CD, a book, etc. When I really like it, it shows. When I don’t like it, it shows more. But please, don’t let it offend you if you don’t agree or feel its a personal attack to your sensibilities. We all have opinions and you don’t have to believe mine. It’s just a different way of viewing.

I have to say it, I don’t like what’s considered the norm for good films. I wouldn’t consider the top 100 films of all time in my top ten in the slightest. It’s just the way I am. I extol the classically classic (as me and my friends would say) and the cinematically excellent falls by the wayside. Best comedies, Meet the Spartans and Dumb & Dumber. Best action, Equilibrium and The Mummy. Best drama, The Pianist (actually considered good) and The Fall. Nicholas Cage is an amazing actor. And so on and so forth. I will defend my views even if they don’t appear to have a logical path of argument. It’s just the way I’ve always been. It’s the way my mind works.

This love of the mediocre and classic (in the sense of something we among our friends find hilariously good, although not actually good) extends to all things. And if I hate on a movie and those actors in it, I couldn’t mean less harm. It’s only a twisted way of showing my appreciating for something that is just too classic.

So please continue viewing my blog and enjoying the “classic” rants of a fellow entertainment enthusiast. And always return to The Abyss.

-Ross the Boss

reviewsfromtheabyss

 

 

 

About rosstheboss56

My loves in life are horror movies, metal, and science fiction. But that's not all I will be reviewing. I'm going to run the gambit on movies, music, books, and maybe a video game or two. Whatever I can get a hold of, I'm going to review, new and old. You can take my opinions if you want, but in the end, it's what you decide. View all posts by rosstheboss56

One response to “A Clarification

Leave a Reply

